Western (BC/SK) Part B Schedule 2017-18

The program is presented as six distance learning modules, each supplemented by tutorials and two face-to-face workshops.

Foundation Course in Occupational Medicine – Part B Western
(British Columbia/Saskatchewan)

 Schedule 2017-2018 (Mondays)

Date

Activity

Learning Method

Time

Dec 11, 2017

@ 6:00-7:00 p.m. PST /

8:00 – 9:00 p.m. CST

Introduction to Foundation Course Part B:

Face-to-face and Teleconference

Location: 

 

 

Dec 12 – Jan 14, 2018

Module 1: Managing Occupational Health in the Workplace

Independent Learning

10 hours

Jan 15, 2018

@ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PST /

8:00 – 10:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 1

Location: 

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

Jan 16 – Feb 11, 2018

Module 2: Occupational Hazards

Independent Learning

10 hours

Feb 26, 2018

 @ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PST /

8:00 – 10:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 2

Location: 

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

Feb 27 – Mar 16, 2018

Module 3: Health Surveillance and Other Programs

Independent Learning

10 hours

Mar 16, 2018

@ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PDT /

7:00 – 9:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 3

Location:  Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

March 17, 2018

@ 9:00 a.m.-5:30 p.m. MDT

Face to Face Workshop (Modules 1-3): Recognizing and managing occupational illness

Location:  Vancouver General Hospital, Vancouver

Interactive learning

7.5 hours*

Mar 25 – Apr 15, 2018

Module 4: Occupational Disease and Injury

Independent Learning

10 hours

Apr 16, 2018

@ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PDT /

7:00 – 9:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 4

Location: 

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

Apr 17 – May 13, 2018

Module 5: Healthy Workplace – Healthy Workers

Independent Learning

10 hours

May 14, 2018

@ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PDT /

7:00 – 9:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 5

Location: 

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

May 15 – Jun 21, 2018

Module 6: Making Sense of Data

Independent Learning

10 hours

Jun 22, 2018

@ 6:00-8:00 p.m. PDT /

7:00 – 9:00 p.m. CST

Tutorial Module 6

Location:  Alumni House, University of Alberta

Structured discussion of course material

2 hours*

June 23, 2018

@ 9:00-5:30 p.m. PDT

Face to Face Workshop (Modules 4-6)

Location:  Alumni House, University of Alberta

Interactive learning

7.5 hours*